The Best Thing That I’ve Found

During my early years of college, I used to have this vivid, reoccurring dream that would only come to me after a night of heavy, ridiculous drinking.

In this dream, I would be so. unbelievably. thirsty. Like I just trudged through a dry sandy desert for forty days with no water. My mouth was cotton-y and I craved the satisfaction of smooth, clear water on my throat. I would drink water, but nothing would happen. I was still just as thirsty as I was before. It would drive me nuts! I would guzzle water like it was nobody’s business. Gallons and gallons of it. Yet I would still be extremely thirsty! It was like I could never be satisfied by any amount of water, no matter how hard I tried.

In the last seconds of the dream, right before I woke up, I would always hear the same voice. And here’s what the voice would say:

You can drink from the world all you want but only I can satisfy you. 

It took me a while to piece two and two together, but when I did, the realization of what was happening finally dawned on me.

That dream wasn’t a coincidence and that voice wasn’t just in my head.

I had to learn that the world literally could not offer me anything that would be more substantial than what God could offer me.

You see, there’s not a drink in the world that can cure you. There’s not a pill strong enough to numb your pain. There’s no relationship perfect enough to fill the void in your heart. No activity, organization, or hobby can keep you busy enough to distract you from your problems. No amount popularity can keep you from feeling lonely. There’s not enough clothing stores in the world to make you feel good about yourself. And no amount of success can give your life meaning.

You might think there is, but there’s not. I guarantee you all these things the world offers you will leave you empty, dissatisfied, and discontent.

I’ve been obsessed with this song “Best Thing That I’ve Found” by Saigon. If you want to listen to it, look at my right sidebar for the official music video link.

In the chorus, it says “Another face in the crowd, fall from from grace, I’m coming down. You’re the best thing that I’ve found. You lost your way, I lost my crown. I’m still here, feet on the ground. You’re the best thing that I found”. I cannot stop listening to this song. For some reason, this truth is ringing in my heart today.

Jesus is the best thing that I’ve found. Hands down.

I could drink from the world all I want, but only God can truly satisfy my soul. I don’t even like to think what my life would be like without Him. There is not a single thing the world has to offer that I want more than Him. I’d rather drink the cup of water God offers me than the gallons of water the world tries to offer.

“Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” – John 4: 13

If this is you right now, I dare you to stop chasing the world and run non-stop in the opposite direction. God will be there waiting for you, holding a cup of water that will truly satisfy.

Love,
Lottie

Leave a comment